Discussion- Divergent by Veronica Roth

A Science Fiction/Fantasy Book Written in 2012  by Veronica Roth.

A Science Fiction/Fantasy Book Written in 2012 by Veronica Roth.

*Note- This post continues the writing from the Book Summaries page. Please read for previous details.*

Once again, another book that I seemed to have fallen in love with. If only I weren’t so ADD, I could read one author then move onto the next, but where would the fun in that be?

Divergent was interesting because, I am not sure if you have been there, but it is based in Chicago. They don’t really hint at the time frame or what happened to Chicago as we know it, but this makes the setting easy to visualize. I think the details the author uses throughout the book are so specific that the movie is going to have a tough time keeping up to par. I did read a movie review though that said the director’s focus was on maintaining the structure of the book and creating similar details so that readers would be proud of his work. Personally, I refused to read many more reviews than that because I plan on watching the movie here shortly now that I have finished the book.

So, here are my questions for those that have watched/planned on watching the Divergent movie and read the book. I would like to see a variety of opinions regarded the movie/book and if you have seen both that would be even better. The following are my discussion questions for those Divergent fans out there. Please feel free to answer one or all if you can!

  1. Do you think that you would’ve kept it a secret as well as Beatrice did if you were a Divergent?
  2. Do you think the book would’ve been better/worse with a third person narrator instead of Beatrice?
  3. Which faction do you think you would’ve fit with the best? As a reminder, they are Abnegation(the selfless), Amity(the peaceful), Candor(the honest), Dauntless(the brave) or Erudite(the intelligent).
  4. Which was better: the book or the movie? Why?
  5. What are the main differences from the book compared to the movie? Which contains more details for the viewer/reader?
  6. Due to all the Hunger Games controversy of them being the same content, did you think this book/movie was better than the Hunger Games?

 

If you have any other questions that come to mind, to hesitate to ask them. It is a discussion after all!

1 Comment

  1. To start I want to say I see that it has been more then a year since you wrote this blog, It has been at least as long for me in reading the books. I agree of course that the plot points are the same, but so are most zombie and vampire movies… In the end it may be that a new genre was created by J. K. Rowling’s Harry Potter. That genre might be ” kids in peril save the world.”

    As for you questions. I would imagine being divergent is that worlds equivalent to homosexuality only a few years ago. I imagine that Rock Hudson kept his secret but did it poorly and only with a considerable amount of help. However people with less to loose, but that little being all they had, kept their secrets better. Having watched Imitation Game I can pretend to know how desperately Alan Turing might have held on to his secret. In the end both those secrets failed and that would seem to point to that kind of secret being impossible to keep, However homosexuality has been alive since the Ancient Greeks, but it is only after multiple millenniums that the secret is truly out. I imagine that not being any better or worse then my peers… I would endeavor to keep my secrets but ultimately I would give myself away, at first only to people that knew what to look for, people like me, then it would all come out.. I would have to either acquire the kind of power to make my own orientation irrelevant or be prepared to suffer the consequences.

    I didn’t remember on my own that Beatrice was the narrator, but I did remember that it felt a little off reading and hoping to know more then just her perspective. I remember being frustrated reading. I imagine now that may be for having to following without a bigger picture.

    I imagine that at that age the thing I tried to convince myself of the most was that I was fearless. I was told often enough that I was smart or dumb, candid or a liar, selfish and selfless, Amiable and harsh, but my emotions would be stirred the most when told that was I was brave and even more when told I was afraid. I would do almost anything to prove myself fearless and I believed being thought of as brave was the highest praise.

    The book is almost always better… The only exception to me is G.R.R. Martin’s Game of Thrones. I found the pace impossible the misogyny unbearable and the characters unrelateable. But on HBO they were all alive and vivid and it seemed to make sense. Maybe the choice to tone down the supernatural helped and certainly the choice to make the children suffer less helped as well but even now on HBO Game of Thrones is again bringing me to my tipping or tapping out point.

    I don’t know if it’s the detail. but I remember feeling squeamish when reading about the jump from the train and again from the building… I felt a good deal less watching the movie. I remember the test being more disorienting and more perilous even after her “divergence” won out… it felt like an action hero taking on a simple task in the movie… but maybe that was because I knew what to expect.

    It is not a bad book but Hunger Games was better… Hunger games wasn’t bad, but Harry Potter was better. The Twilight books were awesome,… Anne Rice was better.. As Kilgore Trout would say…so it goes…

    Thanks for you blog…

Leave a Reply

