Divergent by Veronica Roth

A Science Fiction/Fantasy Book Written in 2012  by Veronica Roth.

A Science Fiction/Fantasy Book Written in 2012 by Veronica Roth.

I finally did it. I finally conformed with the norm for once! After battling at the library for weeks, I got my hands on Divergent from one of my friends. Did I mention this was my first actually book from my blog series that was not an e-book? That might have had a thing or two to do with my insatiably fast reading skills this time around, or maybe it was the content. I can proudly say that I finished this book in three short days. When I first started my blog, this meant I had no job and needed an outlet for all my built up energy. Now, I am steadily managing three part-time jobs and dominated Divergent.


This book is a must-read! It doesn’t matter if you prefer romance, comedy, action, drama or maybe even picture books because Divergent is for everyone! I can honestly say I believe any age/gender can read this book with excitement and hate to put it down… why else would they be making it a family film?!

So, time for the main plot to talk you into reading it, if I haven’t done so already. Beatrice, a girl from the faction Abnegation, is the main character. On the day that she turned 16, she was finally allowed to take an Aptitude test. This test suggests to members of all factions where they would best belong. Since Beatrice was not the most selfless person, which Abnegation was known for, she expected to find a different result to her test. This would mean that she could leave her family and switch to be initiated into a different faction. Each faction has a duty they do: whether it be control the government, assist with farming or provide means for military personnel.

Beatrice did not even come close to predicting what result she would get. As the book is so cleverly named, Beatrice was told on Aptitude testing day that she was what they call Divergent. This means she does not belong in one particular place but instead contains a mixture of multiple talents and personality traits.

In my mind, this would be a great thing to have. People that tend to advance in the world are good at multiple tasks and can’t thrive with one talent. However, if you are Divergent, it is not something to be proud of. It is like a birth defect or a disease that you have to keep hidden… or else (Dun dun dun…). But really, being categorized as Divergent in the past has led to people being murdered since they are seen as outcasts and superior to the rest. Beatrice has a tough decision to make on which faction she wants to commit her life to. She could stay at home and be unhappy her whole life, or she can make a change that will hopefully be for the better.

What will Beatrice choose? Will her “secret identity” stay a secret?
I can’t wait to discuss this book with you on my discussion/spoilers page to follow!

Leave a Reply

